LibGuides: SVM Library Homepage: Open Access

Open Access Sources

Open access is a model of scholarly communication that promises to greatly improve the accessibility of results of research. In general terms, scholarly research that is published in open access is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions, although it does require that proper attribution of works be given to authors. (Canadian Association of Research Libraries)

About Open Access (Library Guide from the Colorado School of Mines Library) This link opens in a new window
-Open Access (OA) Explained -Benefits of Open Access
-Reasons for publishing Open Access -OA Myths
-Models of Open Access Publishing (for authors)
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open-access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.

OpenStax College
OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University, with a mission to improve student access to education. The first licensed college textbook was published in 2012, and since scaled to more than 20 books for college and AP courses used by hundreds of thousands of students.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed.
World Scientific Open
Leveraging on the open access movement, WorldScientificOpen gives you unprecedented access to top-tier journals, books and proceedings.

Institutional Repositories

An institutional repository is a digital archive of an institution’s intellectual output. These repositories also form part of a larger global system of repositories, which are indexed in a standardized way, and searchable using one interface, providing the foundation for a new model of scholarly publishing. (Canadian Association of Research Libraries)

Canadian Institutional Repositories This link opens in a new window
Canadian institutional repositories listed by provinces
ISU Digital Repository This link opens in a new window
The Iowa State University Digital Repository is the open-access institutional repository for the university to collect, manage, share, and preserve free, worldwide access to research and scholarship of Iowa State faculty, staff, and students. Material in the Digital Repository covers a wide range of disciplines from engineering to social sciences to arts and humanities.
OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories.
Royal Veterinary Clinic Repository This link opens in a new window
RVC Research Online compiles the research outputs of academics and clinical staff from the Royal Veterinary College. The aim of the repository is to: provide a long-term home for research outputs from the College; supply access to full-text versions of these outputs; support the practice of open science across the entire range of the College's research activity; and, increase the impact and reach of the College's research.
Texas Digital Library-Member Institutional Repositories This link opens in a new window
Texas Digital Library hosts DSpace repositories for many of its members that serve as both institutional repositories and repositories for special collections.
ThinkTech This link opens in a new window
ThinkTech is an online publishing and archival service for the Texas Tech University community that scholars may use to distribute and archive their scholarly works with no limitations on content or format. ThinkTech also provides access to materials that traditional publications cannot.