LibGuides: DVM 6321 Clinical and Professional Skills IIb: Home

Recommended and Supplementary Resources

Books and eBooks

	Adams and Stashak's Lameness in Horses, 7th ed. (2020) Gary M. Baxter (editor) ISBN: 9781119276685 Print copy (in-house use only) available at: SVM Reading Room

	Bovine Reproduction, 2nd ed. (2021) Richard M. Hopper (editor) ISBN: 9781119602361 Print copies (in-house use only) available at: SVM Reading Room SVM Clinical Presentations Room SVM Mariposa Station

	Current Therapy in Large Animal Theriogenology, 2nd ed. Robert S. Youngqust & Walter R. Threlfall (authors) ISBN: 9780721693231 Availability: Ordered

	Dairy Production Medicine (2011) Carlos A. Risco & Pedro Melendez (editors) ISBN: 9780813815398 Available online to TTU faculty and students through the Wiley Online Library - https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/book/10.1002/9780470960554 (TTU login required outside the TTU Network)

	Equine Emergencies, 4th ed. (2014) James A. Orsini & Thomas J. Divers (authors) ISBN: 9781455708925 Print (in-house use only) copies available at: SVM Reading Room SVM Clinical Presentations Lab SVM Mariposa Station

	Equine Internal Medicine, 4th ed. (2018) Stephen M. Reed, Warwick M. Bayly, and Debra C. Sellon (authors) ISBN: 9780323443296 Print (in-house use only) copy available at: SVM Reading Room

	Equine Surgery, 5th ed. (2019) Jorg A. Auer & John A. Stick (authors) ISBN: 9780323484206 Print copies (in-house use only) available at: SVM Reading Room SVM Surgery/Induction Room

	Farm Animal Anesthesia, 2nd ed. (2022) HuiChu Lin, Thomas Passler & Stuart Clark-Price (editors) ISBN: 9781119672548 Print copies (in-house use only) available at: SVM Reading Room SVM Surgery/Induction Room

	Large Animal Internal Medicine, 6th ed. (2020) Bradford P. Smith, David C. Van Metre & Nicola Pusterla (editors) ISBN: 9780323554459 Print copies (in-house use only) available at: SVM Reading Room SVM Clinical Presentation Lab

	Llama and Alpaca Care (2014) Chris Cebra, David E. Anderson, Ahmed Tibary, Robert J. Van Saun & LaRue Willard Johnson (authors) ISBN: 9781437723526 Print (in-house use only) copy available at: SVM Reading Room

	Rebhun's Diseases of Dairy Cattle, 3rd ed. (2018) Simon Peek & Thomas J. Divers (authors) ISBN: 9780323390552 Print (in-house use only) copy available at: SVM Reading Room

	Sheep, Goat, and Cervid Medicine, 3rd ed. (2021) David G. Pugh, Nickie Baird, Misty Edmondson & Thomas Passler (authors) ISBN: 9780323624633 Print copies (in-house use only) available at: SVM Reading Room SVM Clinical Presentation Lab

	Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods, 5th ed. (2012) Michael D. Willard & Harold Tvedten (authors) ISBN: 9781437706574 Availability: On order

	Small Animal Dermatology, 4th ed. (2017) Keith A. Hnilica & Adam P. Patterson (authors) ISBN: 9780323376518 Print copies (in-house use only) available at: SVM Reading Room SVM "Ologies" Lab

	Small Animal Dermatology (Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion Series), 3rd ed. (2018) Karen Helton Rhodes & Alexander H. Werner (authors) ISBN: 9781119337249 Print (in-house use only) copy available at: SVM Reading Room

	Small Animal Internal Medicine, 6th ed. (2020) Richard W. Nelson & C. Guillermo Couto (authors) ISBN: 9780323570145 Print (in-house use only) copy available at: SVM Reading Room

	Small Animal Surgery, 5th ed. (2019) Theresa Welsh Fossum (author) ISBN: 9780323443449 Print copies (in-house use only) available at: SVM Reading Room SVM Surgery/Induction Room

	Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine Expert Consult, 8th ed. (2017) Stephen J. Ettinger, Edward C. Feldman & Etienne Cote (authors) ISBN: 9780323312110 Print copies: SVM Harrington Library (in process)

Clinical Resources (not peer-reviewed)

VIN: Veterinary Information Network
- News, conference proceedings & more.
- Includes a section dedicated to veterinary medicine students
  - Check this out! A virtual clinic, interactive anatomy, flashcards, etc
  - https://www.vin.com/students

DVM 360
- Veterinary medicine news, expert insights, animal health and pet care products, research, and regulations for the veterinary medical community. Includes a section for DVM students.
- https://www.dvm360.com

AVMA Axon
- A one-stop source for digital education
- Continuous education platform
- Includes webinars, certificate programs, policies, and more
- https://axon.avma.org

International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS)
- Veterinary information and learning opportunities worldwide.
- Global calendar of veterinary events, on-site and online courses, webinars, videos, and other continuing education opportunities.
- The IVIS Library provides free access to original, up-to-date publications organized in e-books, proceedings of veterinary meetings, and veterinary journals.
- www.ivis.org

WikiVet
- Free veterinary encyclopedia
- https://en.wikivet.net/Veterinary_Education_Online

Merck Veterinary Manual
- The Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) provides concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals.
- https://www.merkvetmanual.com

Consultant (Cornell University)
- A Diagnostic Support System for Veterinary Medicine
- Searchable by diagnosis or signs
- https://consultant.vet.cornell.edu/

Consensus Statements (ACVIM)
- From the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine
- https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/page/journal/19391676/homepage/free_reviews_and_consensus_statements.htm

Regulatory

FARAD
- The Food Animal Residue Avoidance Databank
- www.farad.org

Texas Animal Health Commission
- The Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) is charged with protecting the state's domestic animals "from all contagious or infectious diseases of a malignant character."
- https://www.tahc.texas.gov

APHIS Modules
- From the USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
- NVAP Training Modules for Accreditation Renewal
  - https://www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/ourfocus/animalhealth/nvap/ct_aast

Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine

RCVS Knowledge
- From the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)
- Mission: to advance the quality of veterinary care for the benefit of animals, the public, and society
- https://knowledge.rcvs.org.uk/home/

Best Bets for Vets
- Supporting veterinary clinicians in making evidence-based decisions
- https://bestbetsforvets.org

Species-Related Organizations, Guidelines, Policies, Etc.

American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP)
- An international association of veterinarians serving society as leaders in cattle health, welfare, and productivity.
- https://aabp.org/

American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP)
- The AAEP's mission is to improve the health and welfare of the horse, further the professional development of its members, and provide resources and leadership for the benefit of the equine industry.
- https://aaep.org/

American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners (AASRP)
- The AASRP provides a single forum for those with interests in small ruminants, where we can exchange ideas, share knowledge, and together set goals and objectives that will benefit the industry as a whole.
- http://aasrp.org/

American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV)
- The AASV's mission aims to increase the knowledge of swine veterinarians, promote the development and availability of resources that enhance the effectiveness of professional activities, and more.
- Check their Resources and Swine Information Library page at https://aasv.org/library/
- https://aasv.org/

Academy of Veterinary Consultants
- The AVC endeavors to do all things necessary to promote the interests, improve the public stature, and increase veterinarians' knowledge in the Beef Herd Health Consultation field.
- Check their student page at http://www.avc-beef.org/students/students.asp
- http://www.avc-beef.org/

Clinical Pathology

eClinPath
- An online textbook on Veterinary Clinical Pathology
- https://eclinpath.com/

Pharmacology

FARAD
- Legal/illegal drugs, PK studies for food animals, and withdrawal time
- http://www.farad.org/

Animal Drug Green Book Reports & Approved Animal Drug Products
- From the FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine
- Drug Summaries-Blue Bird Labels
- Green Book Reports (PDFs and Excel files)
- Medicated Feeds
- Search Animal Drugs at FDA
- https://animaldrugsatfda.fda.gov/adafda/views/#/search

Theriogenology

Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction (VisGAR)
- Most of the images were generously contributed by friends and colleagues. Permission for their inclusion in this guide has been granted. The images are categorized, and each is given a title and annotation, and the source of the image is acknowledged and referenced.
- https://visgar.vetmed.ufl.edu

Library of Reproduction Images (LORI)
- Sections include Bovine, Equine, Canine, Feline, & many more.
- https://lorimainsection.blogspot.com/

Production Animal Resources

National Animal Health Monitoring System
- The National Animal Health Monitoring System (NAHMS) Program Unit conducts national studies on the health and health management of United States domestic livestock and poultry populations.
- https://www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/ourfocus/animalhealth/monitoring-and-surveillance/nahms

Texas A&M Agrilife
- An education agency that provides programs, tools, and resources on a local and statewide level that teach people improved agriculture and food production, advanced health practices, environmental protection, economic and youth programs.
- https://agrilifeextension.tamu.edu/

Dairy

PennState Extension - Dairy
- Find educational material about dairy cattle, including nutrition and feed management, health and care, reproduction, facilities and technology, and business management from Penn State Extension.
- https://extension.psu.edu/animals-and-livestock/dairy/see-all-dairy/shopby/articles

National Dairy FARM Program
- The FARM program helps ensure the entire dairy industry's success by demonstrating that U.S. dairy farmers are committed to producing high-quality, safe milk with integrity.
- https://nationaldairyfarm.com/

Beef

Drovers
- Drovers provide coverage of today’s beef industry – from markets to production, news and policy — reaching the industry’s largest number of cow-calf, stocker and feedlot segments with critical information to manage their beef business.
- https://www.drovers.com/

Beef Quality Assurance (BQA)
- Beef Quality Assurance (BQA) is a national program that raises consumer confidence through offering proper management techniques and a commitment to quality within every segment of the beef industry.
- https://www.bqa.org/

Professional Animal Auditor Certification Organization (PAACO)
- The authority on animal welfare auditing, providing high-quality training and certification credentials for auditors and audits.
- https://animalauditor.org/

Small Ruminants

Maryland Small Ruminant Page
- An information portal for sheep and goat producers.
- https://www.sheepandgoat.com/

American Sheep Industry Association (ASI)
- ASI is the national organization representing the interests of sheep producers located throughout the U.S.
- https://www.sheepusa.org/

Missing something? Anything you would like to add?

Help us improve this page!

Faculty and student recommendations are encouraged and appreciated.

Please email Dr. Howard Rodriguez Mori

DVM 6321 Clinical and Professional Skills IIb

Do you have questions? Need assistance finding articles or information? We are here to help!

Recommended and Supplementary Resources

Missing something? Anything you would like to add?

PHONE

EMAIL